Of these things I am thankful…

by joelmckerrow

Today I am thankful for rain-spit,
for wing tip of tiny bird,
for hopeful eyes,
for moments of flow,
for touch of friend on tired arm.

Today I am thankful for shards of glass,
for splinters stuck like teeth,
for tripping over feet,
for bruised back,
for the pain of denial.

Version 2

Today I am thankful for music melody,
for head placed on heartbeat,
for presence,
for the cast red of a sun disappearing,
for peach season and throat.

Today I am thankful for loss,
for the fish of a dead friend staring at me across the room,
for the tearing and the unresolved
for the ‘Fuck you I cannot take this anymore’
for the empty.

IMG_5602

Today I am thankful for hands held,
for pen in hand and paper being filled,
for she who could not stop listening,
for he who thanked the God inside me,
for the books floating all around.

Today I am thankful for frustration,
for grinding teeth and the pacing,
for harsh words,
for the bleak,
for the lonely.

Today I am thankful for the light.
Today I am thankful for the shadow.
It has not been an easy day, this choosing of gratitude.

IMG_5584

